News & Press

Schwinn Sponsored UW Madison Cycling Team Wins Conference Championships

Apr 21, 2006

The UW Madison Cycling team put on an impressive performance last weekend as they dominated their races at the regional championships, hosted by the University of Illinois on April 22-23, thereby claiming the Midwest Collegiate Cycling Conference Championship.

Arriving with a team of 40 racers for the weekend, easily the most out of any school, the UW Cycling Team competed in the team time trial, criterium, and road race events in all four category levels -ranging from first time racers in Category D, to elite racers in Category A.

The team time trial event kicked the weekend off on Saturday morning, April 22nd, and the several UW teams started the weekend off strong. Men's A racers Fred Jacobsen, Ryan Bauman, Rich Hatch, and Dave Hatch rode a superb time trial and won the event. The men's C racers also scored an overall team win, with every other UW team placing second in their respective categories.

In the criterium race later Saturday afternoon, UW cycling continued to put up top results in every race. Highlights included Steve Scholzen sprinting for 3rd place in the men's A race, and Kelli Hayes and Casey Cessna making the selection for 3rd and 6th, respectively, in the women's A race.

Sunday's road race was where the UW Madison team really proved that they deserved to win the conference championships. Dave Madden and Ted Durkee took 1st and 2nd place for UW in the men's C race, and the men's B team saw Corey Behrens take 5th place even with a flat tire. In an exciting finale, UW riders Kelli Hayes and Dave Hatch won the women's A and men's A road races respectively, propelling UW Madison up into first place in the team omnium standings!

This is the first year that UW Madison has ever won the MWCCC Conference Championships - and it is an accomplishment that they will surely fight to defend every year after this. By winning the conference title, UW Madison also earned a spot to race in the 2006 Collegiate Road National Championships. Men's A riders Steve Scholzen, Fred Jacobsen, Ryan Baumann, Steve Knurr, Dave Hatch, and Rich Hatch, as well as women's A riders Mary Coats, Casey Cessna, and Kelli Hayes will all travel to Lawrence, Kansas May 10-14 to compete in the National Championship.